# 24: Practice Paleo Eating

So one of my goals to tackle this month is number 24: Practice Paleo Eating. I did a lot of reading over the weekend and I’m currently 3 days into eating Paleo.  I’m actually slurping up a pineapple-spinach-banana smoothie as I type, and it is ah-mah-zing!

So what is Paleo Eating?

Paleo eating represents the way our ancestors ate thousands of years ago. The premise is that our bodies have yet to evolve to the point where we can effectively process the large amounts of grains and processed foods that we consume today. Thus a move to a more hunter-gatherer type of eating would be more in line with our bodies needs. The result would be healthier, stronger bodies that naturally maintain a healthy weight.

Why have I chosen Paleo eating as the way to go?

I have polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) and though I have not actively been trying to combat the symptoms, I do understand that my body will greatly benefit and thrive on a diet that is not heavily dependant on carbs. PCOS paired with diabetes on both sides of my family tree means (I’m doubly susceptible to diabetes) and something (carbs) has gotta give! I’ve thought of going the Atkins route, and did try it a few times. But I love fruits (and live in the Caribbean), plus I prefer that Paleo focuses on healthy natural foods, while with Atkins things like artificial products and sweeteners are allowed. My focus is on health and being able to keep this up for the long run. So Paleo it is! (I’ll still visit the Atkins site and facebook page for nifty low carb recipe ideas!)

 What will I do to ensure success?!

Sooooo I’ve been here before many times. On the cusp of “I’m gonna change the way I eat (and live happily ever after)!” and ended up back at it again some time later. That sucks. But the good thing about it is that I’ve learned in the past what does not work for me, and thus I feel I’m a little better equipped now, and one failed attempt closer to success. So what am I going to do differently?

1. Plan – I need to plan my meals in advance, and have them prepared in advance, because when I get hungry…………………………………… HULK SMASH! I tend to go for the closest most edible thing, and 9 times outta 10 it tends to be carbs.

2. Experiment! Read! Learn! This is a very different way of eating for me, and I know at times things may get hectic and I’ll want to fall back on the familiar comfort foods (Mmmmmm bread!). I need to learn as much as I can and experiment with recipes so that this way of eating becomes more familiar and more natural.

3. Track my progress. For some reason I’ve never liked tracking what I eat. But I do recognise how important it is. You can’t know what’s working and what’s not, if you don’t know what you’re doing. I’m going to make it even more interesting by making a note of how I feel daily, and any other noteworthy…… notes.

 

Here are a few websites I browsed over the weekend:

 

Nerd Fitness (where I actually really heard about Paleo first!) gives you The Beginners Guide to Paleo Diet

 

Mark’s Daily Apple gives you The Definitive Guide to Insulin, Blood Sugar & Type 2 Diabetes (and you’ll understand it)

Mark’s Daily Apple provides a wealth of info on the Paleo diet so feel free to click away! I read up on Mark’s Definitive Guide to the Primal Eating Plan the New Pyramid  and The Definitive Guide to Grains

 

An interesting TED video on feeding your body what it needs

 

How to Keep Faeces Out of Your Bloodstream (or Lose 10 Pounds in 14 Days) from the Four Hour Work Week… (Talk about an eye catching title)

 

And for recipe ideas, I checked out Every Day Paleo and  Nom Nom Paleo (where I have been lurking and salivating for months)

Leave a Reply

